Want to Learn the Chess Basics? Here Are the Fundamental Rules You Need to Know

Want to Learn the Chess Basics? Here Are the Fundamental Rules You Need to Know

Some people learn how to play chess in their childhood, but if you are learning as a beginner – a few basic rules and strategies are there you must know. It’s something about going beyond moving the pieces and capturing them.

Setup: We start to play by placing the pieces and you need to find out where the queen goes on.

Basic rules: These are the fundamental rules that every chess player should learn how each of the pieces moves and captures.

Check and checkmate: This is the rule about how to win – how to edge your opponent’s king.

Advanced rules: It’s all about proceed with the advanced skills to win over your opponent.

Have you just sat down to play chess for the first time? Or maybe you have rediscovered the game strategies after several years. Here, you need to bring out together this beginners’ guide on how to play chess and learn endgame strategies. It includes all basic rules such as which square to form to place the queen or when to call a checkmate to claim your victory.

These are the standard rules that someone needs to learn playing a casual chess game. It’s not helpful if you want to go into depth on the advanced level of the game.

When you are known to these basic chess rules, start playing casual games without penetrating the depth of advanced levels like board positions, specific openings or tournament rules. Start with the pure basic chess rules to get you performing as quickly as you can. But it’s not about timing only, you should take your time to defend against a particular opening. Once you have learned the basic rules of how to play chess, start learning new strategies and tactics. Thus, you can understand the game more specifically and it will gradually refine your experience and skill.

Know Your Chessboard First:

In the beginning, you need to understand the chessboard. It contains a total of 64 squares over 8 vertical files and 8 horizontal ranks. These vertical files are labelled with the letters “a-h” whereas the horizontal ranks are numbered “1-8”. A letter and its coordinate number are matched to each of the squares on the board.

The Chessboard and Chess Pieces:

You cannot start playing the game on the empty chessboard, you need the chess pieces then. Each of the two players plays with 16 chess pieces. At the beginning of the game, one starts with white and the other one starts with black.

The chess pieces include

Pawns – the foot soldiers

Knights – they are the jumping chess pieces such as medieval knight soldiers on horseback

Bishops – the chess piece looks like the bishop’s hat

Rooks – these pieces look like a castle to represent the ancient chariot

Queens – powerful pieces who can dominate the chessboard

King – the most important piece who can command the whole army, whose loss ensures the end of a chess game.

In total, each of the two sides consists of 8 pawns, 2 rooks, 2 knights, 2 bishops, 1 queen and a single king.

All the pawns are placed on the second rank in front of the other chess pieces. The rooks are situated in the corners. The knights are placed just next to the rooks and finally the bishops.

The queen is placed on the square of its color and the king sits next to her.

Now, you need to learn chess endgames and their corresponding strategies to claim your victory over the opponent. It’s just a matter of time to learn the basic chess pieces movements to proceed through your game. These movements include everything about opening strategies and endgame tactics. The more you are habituated with the game, you can move your chess pieces faster.